The HIStory album was released on June 20, 1995, and was Michael' a two disc album with a total of 30 songs. The first disc "HIStory Begins" was a collection of 15 of Michael's greatest hits as an adult solo artist. All greatest hits songs are the same as the original album versions.

The second disc "HIStory Continues" of this album contained 15 brand new songs, 12 of which were composed and written by Michael himself. Although the track "Come Together" was recorded in 1987 and released asa double A- Side with "Remember the Time" as well as having been featured in the Moonwalker movie many years earlier.

The second disc of the 'History' album also credited Michael for the first time with playing the keyboards, Synthesizer, drums and percussion, and guitar.

Special appearances on the album were made by Janet Jackson, Shaquille O'Neal, Notorius B.I.G, Boyz II Men, and Slash.

The album was controvercial, with many angry songs - Michael's reply to the press and allegations that had been plaguing his life and career over the previous few years, as well as had a softer edge with ballads such as "You Are Not Alone", "Earth Song", "Stranger In Moscow" and "Smile". Shortly after it's release the 'HIStory' album was pulled from the shelves due to the the controvercial lyrics in the song "They Don't Care About Us", and new copies of the album were released with a formal apology written by Michael to those who may have been offended by the lyrics.

5 singles were released off of this album; "Scream", "Earth Song", "You Are Not Alone", "Stranger In Moscow", and "They Don't Care About Us". The album hit #1 in 19 countries around the world, with world wide sales of over 15 million. The "You Are Not Alone" single broke a world record when it became the first-ever single to debut at #1 on the Billboard music charts.

Special editions of the HIStory album were released in Canada, Germany, Holland, and France in which Michael spoke directly to his fans of these countries thanking them for their support over the years and promising to tour their countries soon.

Album Track listings:

1. Billie Jean
2. The Way You Make Me Feel
3. Black Or White
4. Rock With You
5. She's Out Of My Life
6. Bad
7. I Just Can't Stop Loving You
8. Man In The Mirror
9. Thriller
10. Beat It
11. The Girl Is Mine
12. Remember The Time
13. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough
14. Wanna Be Startin' Somthin'
15. Heal The World

1. Scream (Duet with Janet Jackson)
2. They Don't Care About Us
3. Stranger In Moscow
4. This Time Around
5. Earth Song
6. D.S
7. Money
8. Come Together
9. You Are Not Alone
10. Childhood
11. Tabloid Junkie
12. 2 Bad
13. HIStory
14. Little Susie
15. Smile

Singles released and highest Chart Positions US UK
Scream (with Janet Jackson).
You Are Not Alone
Earth Song
They Don't Care About Us
Stranger in Moscow

Music Videos that accompanied released singles.
Scream - the most expensive music video of all time.
You Are Not Alone Video featuring Lisa Marie Presley.
Earth Song Video
They Don't Care About Us Video
Stranger In Moscow Video
HIStory Video

History Album Cover
michael jackson history album

Released: June 20th 1995

Produced by: Michael Jackson, James Harris, Janet Jackson, Terry Lewis, Teddy Riley, Dallas Austin, Bill Bottrell, David Foster, R. Kelly.

Label: Epic

Sales: 20+ million

Michael Jackson launched his final world tour , the History Tour from September 2006 to October 2009 and peforming to over 4.5 million fans.

Related History Links

Read more about what went on during the Michael Jackson History era.

Michael Jackson's other solo albums

Buy U.S

Original CD

Album MP3



Buy U.K

Original CD

Album MP3


Michael Jackson Biography Lyrics Pictures